article-2255449-16b508c1000005dc-660_964x639

Well, here we are, the last few hours of 2016…I was totally going to write something poignant and deep that encapsulated the year that was 2016 and showed you how wise and knowing I am, but alas…gasp in horror dear internet for..dumm dumm dumm…I have writers block!

Ok, maybe I am being a bit dramatic, writer’s block probably isn’t the right term. I am more of a waffler with a laptop, so I guess at the moment I am all laptop and no waffle? But where there is a will, there is a way, so I turned to someone who always has something to say…my beloved preschooler, and she suggested the following topics:

  • ‘Marshmallows…they are for eating and for putting on sticks and lighting on fire.’
  • ‘And also some oranges for eating aswell.’
  • ‘And also a cat’
  • ‘And some strawberries.’

So here goes;

2016 has been a marshmallow of a year, at times it has been all squishy and sweet (like the birth of our second child, or that lady with the Chewbacca mask), but at many points the year has set those lovely squishy things on fire turning them black and leaving a charred taste in your mouth (Syria, Brexit, Calais Jungle).

The blackend mallow was made worse by some people choosing  oranges, not nice ones, but those horrid sour ones that are mostly pith (Donald Trump). But we shan’t fear, nor be afraid for we humans are not complete jerks, cats still hold that title, so raise a glass of fizzy (obvs with a slice of strawberry for added class and what not) and say ‘pip pip and cheerio’ to 2016.

 

Have a happy New Year and see you on the flip side (do kids still say flip side? I do, so I am using it).Goodbye 2016, hello 2017.

 

 

